You're Here : Home About Us Awards


In preparation for the 2014 ACA Conference in Honolulu, Hawaii, ALGBTIC is seeking nominations for outstanding contributions in several areas. These awards, which are described below, will be awarded at the ALGBTIC Brunch at the 2014 ACA Conference. Please carefully consider who might deserve recognition in each of these categories and send your nominations to Pete Finnerty ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ) no later than Friday, February 14, 2014.

When making a nomination for any of the awards, please include the names and contact information of both the nominee and nominator, along with a brief narrative (MS Word or Adobe PDF document) describing why you believe the nominee should be considered for the respective award. Self-nominations will be accepted. Please distribute this announcement widely.

ALGBTIC Joe Norton Award:

This award is presented annually for an outstanding contribution to the LGBTQQIA community in the city or region in which the ACA conference is held. This year we are seeking nominations in the state of Hawaii/city of Honolulu.

ALGBTIC Service Award:

This award is presented to an ALGBTIC member who has served ALGBTIC and/or the larger LGBTQQIA community through forwarding the mission and values of ALGBTIC.

ALGBTIC Mentor Award:

This award is presented to an individual identified for his or her significant contribution to mentorship in the ALGBTIC community and persons within the LGBTQQIA community.

ALGBTIC Graduate Student Award:

This award has been established to honor a graduate student member of ALGBTIC who has contributed significantly in one of three areas:

  • Representing or embodying the mission of ALGBTIC through direct service for ALGBTIC or in the field of counseling
  • Furthering knowledge of LGBTQQ issues through an outstanding research contribution
  • Providing service or research that specifically focuses on furthering the knowledge of and commitment to issues of diversity within the LGBTQQIA community

Nominations and any questions should be sent via email to:

Pete Finerty, MS, LPCC
Past-President, ALGBTIC

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

  • ALGBTIC History 01 March 03 (pdf document)
  • ALGBTIC Timeline as of 12 July 04 (pdf document)
  • ALGBTIC Awards History (pdf document)
  • ALGBTIC Awards
    • ALGBTIC Graduate Student Awards:

      • 2013        Jared Rose
      • 2011        Joel Filmore
      • 2008        Philip Gnilka
      • 2007        Tracey Gagne
      • 2006        Kathryn Newton
      • 2005        Anneliese Singh (pdf)

    • ALGBTIC Joe Norton Awards:

      • 2013        Midwest Trans & Queer Wellness Initiative
      • 2011        The Trevor Project
      • 2008        Life Foundation
      • 2007        Ruth Ellis Center, Detroit
      • 2006        Project Interaction, McGill University, Montreal
      • 2005        Joanne DeMark (pdf)
      • 2004        Keith Spare (pdf)
      • 2003        GLBT Service Center of Orange County California (pdf)
      • 2002        PFLAG of New Orleans
      • 2001        John Garcia (pdf)
      • 2000        Robert Washington
      • 1999        Fernando Gutierrez
      • 1998        Richard Yep
      • 1997        Brooke and Joan Collison
      • 1996        Joyce Breasure
      • 1995        Bob Rhode
      • 1994        No awards given in Minneapolis
      • 1993        Michael Hutchins
      • 1992        Barry Losinsky
      • 1991        Sari Dworkin and Stuart Loomis
      • 1990        Jamie Washington and Diane Hulse-Killacky
      • 1989        Olivia Espin
      • 1988        Bob Rhode and Mary McGhee
      • 1987        Joe Norton and Barbara Yanico

      ALGBTIC Service Award:

      • 2013        Shana Cole
      • 2011        Ed Cannon
      • 2008        Cyndy Boyd
      • 2007        Karen Hartman
      • 2006        Susan Seem
      • 2005        Rob Mate
      • 2004        Kathleen Ritter 04 Service Kathleen Ritter (pdf document)
      • 2003        Mark Pope
      • 2002        Sari Dworkin
      • 2001        Colleen Logan
      • 2000        Bob Barret
      • 1999        Rita Drapkin

      ALGBTIC Mentor Award:

      • 2013        Robert Mate
      • 2012        Ed Cannon
      • 2011        Joy Whitman
      • 2008        Mark Pope